Home » Politics » The Final Word on Gay Marriage

The Final Word on Gay Marriage

Today is the day I officially stopped giving a single shit about gay marriage. The people who support simply tire my soul, and the strange thing is that they are shouting so loud against a practically mute opposition. I have never really heard the opposing argument against gay marriage elaborated upon extensively, but it is usually a religiously based argument which alienates me. More to the point, the proponents of gay marriage see this not as an issue of the law but an issue of love. Nothing could be further from the truth. This is part of the larger complex surrounding the gays: “Oh look at how oppressed we are!” No oppressed minority has ever had it easier.

The simple fact is this: I cannot understand how people get so worked up about the issue. I have noticed, however, that the supporters of gay marriage seem to think those who oppose the idea oppose it entirely for fundamentalist religious reasons. I am not so sure. This ability to project an image of the personally defective opponent is one which presages all leftist line of argument, and it is why Charles Krauthammer was right when he said: “To understand the workings of American politics, you have to understand this fundamental law: Conservatives think liberals are stupid. Liberals think conservatives are evil.”

But here is the last word on the issue: meh. I have never understood this debate from beginning to end and I don’t think I ever will. I know this much though: my sister says the opposition consists entirely of religious fanatics who don’t believe gay equals love.  Judging by the tone in which she lectured me, the fanatics are not restricted to one side. Love did not win today; statism did.

-SL

Leave a Reply

